My New Year’s Resolution

fullsizerender

New Years is such a special time! In the past, it’s not gotten too much attention from me because I was always swept up in Christmas. This year, I was still totally swept up in Christmas, but I’ve been able to focus and chart a course for 2017 that will result in a dramatically healthier lifestyle.

I’ve got one big resolution for 2017 and I think I’m finally ready to tackle it —-

Be the person I want to be, not settle for the person my bad habits turned me into.

For far too long I’ve let bad habits dictate my life and how I feel about myself. This year, and from here on out, I’m working to push myself in new ways breaking off my relationship with lazy, bad for me, and unhealthy habits. This is a big deal! Part of me always knew that the habits I was letting myself fall into would bring destruction, but I kept pushing them off for future JJ to deal with. Well, Future JJ is here and she’s dealing with them now!

For the first time, I’m learning how to set goals for myself and am ready to make lasting changes. What it’s all going to come down to is habit change. I’m giving myself time to break old, familiar, and comfortable habits and form new and challenging habits and I’ve got a plan!

There are 52 Weeks in a year. If I give myself 2 weeks to work on one habit to form, then I’ll need 26 new habits. Brainstorming 26 new habits was kind of daunting, so I split that in half to 13. 13 new habits to work on from now until July. Thinking this far ahead is something brand new to me and I can honestly say that I’m excited about it! I’m not stressed out by all the changes that I’m planning to make but energized and motivated at what all I could accomplish if I really stick to the habit change strategy.

My first 2-week challenge is establishing a morning routine. This includes waking up on time, preparing a healthy breakfast, enjoying my cup of coffee, helping Luke take care of our dog, getting dressed, putting on makeup, fixing my hair, and leaving for work on time.

I’m calling this The 26 Challenge and I’d love for you to come along this journey with me! I’m writing a detailed post of my first 13 and I’ll share them tomorrow. 2017 just feels different than 2016 doesn’t it? I’m charged up and ready to go!

Leave a Reply

