Remaining

We’ve been walking through Open Your Bible in my mid week small group. I’ve had ups and downs with it, but overall it’s been beautifully vital in my spiritual life. It’s practical, honest, and drills down to the roots of why consistent Bible reading is important. 5 stars. I highly recommend it.

Anyways, a few of us girls got together last week for our weekly discussion. We really keyed in on John 15:1-8. These are beautiful passages of scripture that give an illuminating illustration of what we can expect when we are connected to Christ as a branch is connected to the vine.

These were not unfamiliar scriptures, thanks to Bible Drill, but through this whole study familiar passages have brought on new revelations, which is AWESOME. As soon as we read verse 4 “Remain in me, and I will remain in you. For a branch cannot produce fruit if it is severed from the vine, and you cannot be fruitful unless you remain in me” I immediately felt the pin-prick of conviction.

I discovered last year that my food / health life is directly connected to my spiritual life. The parallels between the two are insane. When I quit working on my overall health (which I elaborated on a couple of weeks ago), I kind of quit working in my spiritual life, merely doing the bare minimum.

How can I expect any progress, in any area of my life, if I’m not willing to carve out time to work on the areas desperately needing growth and loss? (Growth – spiritual, loss – pounds) It’s all about remaining. Remaining consistent. Remaining faithful. Remaining joyful.

This is just another example of how I can’t just be on a diet. It’s got to be an align everything, this-effects-that, lifestyle change that won’t work unless I remain. Remain in Christ by connecting with him daily.

Remain in control of my feelings about food.

Remain in the drivers seat and not let a hard and/or emotional day take over.

Remain committed to my commitments.

Remain strong when facing temptations.

Remain steady when I think I deserve a treat.

So many things to remain in! I know I can get a handle on it by taking it one day at a time. – JJ

 

Leave a Reply

