Dealing with Regret

It was almost at this time last year that I started focusing on losing weight and taking my health seriously. I did well for a few months, then basically quit trying from Thanksgiving to now (4 ish months).

It’s become really hard for me to distract myself from the thoughts of regret of not sticking to my program or making some sort of effort to make healthy choices. If I would’ve stuck it out and maintained my weight loss, I could go into summer with a new bathing suit; be a size or two smaller; and probably try on something, purchase it, and walk out of the store confidently with a J Crew bag on my shoulder.

Instead. I’m back at where I started only this time, tack on the feeling of regret.

I really could cry just thinking about it.

It’s more than buying certain size clothes or a new bathing suit. It’s that I’ve robbed myself of new experiences and a sense of accomplishment. Instead of being proud of myself for completing something huge (like setting a goal and reaching it), I’m more self conscious than ever that I failed and that things could look totally different this summer if I would’ve only made smarter, long term choices.

How am I dealing with this regret? Not well. Some days, it really takes a hold of my mind and spirit. Some days I’m able to distract myself with a crochet project or any other task. Unfortunately, the regret, as crazy as this seems, discourages healthy choices and encourages ice cream and pizza. You would think it would be the opposite, right? It’s like I wrote about months ago, shame is not proper motivation. Just like shame, anger, sadness and regret aren’t motivators either.

I’m going out on a limb here. I can’t be the only one who has weight regret. Let’s come together and encourage each other to work past the regret and shame and start fresh. Each day can be a new opportunity.

I need as many opportunities as I can get to finally get it right. I want to lose weight in a way that’s going to set me up for success long term. I want my habits to change.  It’s time. Who’s with me?

5 thoughts on “Dealing with Regret

  1. Sara Schultz says:

    Awww girl … you just read the mail I’ve been opening and reopening for as many years as I can count. You could not be more spot on when you say the regret encourages food, food and more food. Crazy how that happens. Lysa Terkerst (I probably grossly misspelled her name) has written a book entitled Made to Crave. I’ve started it but never got very far. I’m wondering if anyone would like to do a group study on line. Perhaps I could start a group on facebook for anyone who would like to do it. I am a 44 year old mom, daughter, girlfriend, sister, speech pathologist, gastric bypass patient and JJ I’m here to tell you none of that matters. My mom has encouraged me, my kids have encouraged me , my friends have encouraged me and I physically altered my body in attempt to do what I have viewed as impossible for my whole entire life. I am now understanding what it boils down to is a right relationship with food and that will take filling the holes I use food to fill with a God who is permanent, loving and hallelujah calorie free! At anyrate if anyone is interested let me know i’d be happy to get something started. Be encouraged girl … you are not alone!

    Like

  2. Courtney says:

    I deal with regret and surrender all the time. (I’ve already messed up so why not just have pizza and cookies?) I am right there with you! Trying and failing and trying again. “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.”
    ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭31:25‬ ‭NIV‬‬

    Like

Leave a Reply

