My Theme for 2016

2518_10205734036051986_8441422646814371297_n

Do you have a word for the year? This is something my mother-in-law (who’s awesome) turned me onto a few years ago. I’ve never really stuck to it before, but I’ve always liked the idea. This is the year that I commit!

After thought, prayer, and consideration, my word for the year is “Effort.”

Yeah, it’s not that fancy, but completely sums up what I need to focus on.

Originally I thought of “discipline” (which tried to be my word last year, but that lasted like a month) or “self control,” but that wasn’t the root issue. Deep down at the bottom was the underlying question of “do I want to put for the effort?” In 2016 my answer will be yes.

Yes, I want to put forth effort. Effort in everything.

I want to get out and walk Buddy every day. I want to spend a little more time meal prepping so I don’t eat out for lunch. I want to make a grocery list every week!

Everything needs effort. I can’t just skate by on charm and a loud laugh. Easy choices don’t get you anywhere. Doing the bare minimum just to skate by, what’s the point!? I don’t want to be like that anymore.

I think every month I’ll write a little update on how my effort is going.

Do you have a word for 2016? I’d love to know it! – JJ

Leave a Reply

