Resolutions #2-#6

image

In my last post, I shared my number big number one major New Years Resolution. It’s the baseline for all of my other resolutions, so think about that as you’re reading through this list of things I want to do in 2016.

#2. Exercise regularly. I think I’ll start with walking consistently. There is a lake behind my house and walking from my driveway and making a loop around the lake is just a little over a mile. I like walking around that lake. There are always ducks and geese swimming around.

I want to incorporate strength training. Anybody want to be my trainer? I can’t pay you, but I’ll crochet you something.

#3. Play keys for Sunday morning worship. Luke, my husband, leads worship every Sunday morning at our church. I sing in worship, but would like to play an instrument! Hopefully by the summer I’ll be confident enough to be able to play a few songs. Kicking myself every day for quitting piano lessons in the 4th grade.

#4. Learn Calligraphy. I’ve played around with hand lettering here and there. I’ve done a couple of wedding programs, save the dates, etc when Luke needed something scripty for a client. Now, don’t misread me, I’ve only got one little font I can somewhat do. I enjoy doing it and I’d like to get into it.

#5. Incorporate healthy habits. Examples include: bring lunch to work at least 4 days, allow 1 dessert / treat per week, avoid carbs on the weekdays, fall in love with salads. The biggest part is keeping up with the habits after the weight comes off.

I’ve got to get mentally ready, again, to put the work in and use the self control that I know is there.

#6. Prepare a meal with foods from my garden. I actually stole this one from Luke.  I’ve proven to myself that I can keep my indoor plants alive. I’m ready for the next phase, gardening! I know absolutely nothing about planting a garden, but I’m excited to learn about it.

Growing up, my grandfather had a huge garden behind his house. I remember my mom (forcing) me to go out and pick peas and string beans (I think. I was young. Memories are cloudy). We’d bring the big buckets back in a shell the peas and snap the beans. I liked the shelling, not so much the picking. I didn’t fully appreciate the cool-ness of having a big family garden, but again I was a kid and only wanted to jump on the trampoline and play with my Barbies.

I’m thinking up resolutions as I go. Maybe I’ll think of more! I’m not limiting myself. Time to go for it! Have you started writing down your resolutions? – JJ

One thought on “Resolutions #2-#6

Leave a Reply

