Resolutions: #1 Be the girl I want to be

photo-1444211111734-7cddabac4149

I love New Year’s Resolutions. I love making lists and dreaming about being the best version of myself. I love fresh starts and clean slates.  I want to share with you some big dreams and goals that I have for myself in the coming year. Some are major, some are silly, but they all count and they’re all important to me.

We’ll start with the biggest one and the title of this blog.

Resolution #1: Be the girl I want to be.

I have a number of habits that need to be evaluated and improved upon and I want to share them with you:

1. I want to be someone who puts effort into things.

Laziness is my biggest struggle. I have major couch potato tendencies. I can easily sink into my laziness and productivity goes down the drain. My appearance, messiness in my home, food choices, refusing to exercise, my spiritual life, and relationships suffer because of my laziness.

Effort is the counterpart to laziness. I want to be someone who puts effort into everything. Even the silliest and smallest things. I want to work hard and be proud of my effort!

2.  I don’t want to fear ridiculous-ness. 

I see myself and others apologize for being “ridiculous.” I want to do things that glorify God and bring joy. I don’t want to be fearful of others’ opinions. I think everyone is a little scared of being labeled ridiculous. I get it, we all want to be taken seriously, but when you stop working towards your dreams or goals or don’t allow yourself to have dreams and goals because of the fear of others’ thoughts, being a little ridiculous seems worth it.

Long story long, I want to do what makes me happy and is good for me within the parameters of glorifying God and bringing joy.

3. I want to be consistent. 

This kind of goes a long with putting effort into things, but it takes it a step further. It’s the continuation of putting effort into things. I don’t want to only last a week or two. I want to go the distance.

I want to be a person of action! I want to set goals, work towards them, and reach them! I want to be a consistent listener, learner, worker, weight loser, fitness achiever, friend, crafter, blogger, disciple, morning person, etc. There is SO much that I want to be consistent in. I know that if I can just take a little at a time and build good habits, then I will be consistent.

Consistency and effort work hand in hand. Can’t have one without the other.

Everything included in those 3 bullet points make up the girl I want to be. I want to start working on them today! I don’t have to wait until January 1 2016. I can start working towards it right now.

Will you help me by praying for me, talking to me about it, mentioning this when you see me around town, etc? I’ll gladly help you. We all need people in our corner. – JJ

2 thoughts on “Resolutions: #1 Be the girl I want to be

Leave a Reply

