How Procrastinating sets me up for Failure

photo-1441323263989-281bc2f5b68c

I am terribly guilty at overbooking myself. I can’t even count the number of times (these past 2 months) where I haven’t connected all the dots and realized that 2 separate events are happening on the same day. I’m really good at disassociating sections of my life… a little too good. It’s something I’m working on.

This is not going to be a blog post giving you tips on how to manage your time. I could never confidently write that. This is more so about the desire for wanting to be involved in everything, but understanding whether or not something is good for you.

Here’s one of my habits that needs to be broken: throwing everything out the window when things get busy.

I LOVE signing up for stuff. I love hosting events. I love throwing parties. I love bringing details for a function together. I love committing to stuff. What happens, 99% of the time is that I procrastinate and wait until the last minute to get my details together or go shopping for said event. The last minute-ness of my tendencies get me into trouble in the food department.

When I’m running around like crazy trying to get my details together, the absolute last thing I want to do is pull out my blender bottle or chop broccoli to roast it. Who has time for that when there are party details to sort out??

Digging a little deeper, I already know this about myself. I know that I’m a procrastinator. I know that my last minute adrenaline kicks in and that’s when all of my good ideas come. I kind of love burning the midnight oil when I have something big the next morning. I like how I feel when I’m running on adrenaline. My adrenaline happens to come out when I’m in charge of an event.

What I also know is that I use this as an excuse to not have to eat well. I get to say that the pressure of the upcoming event is just too much and I need a cheeseburger. I get to say that I don’t have time to cook something healthy and on plan because I have to work on details for whatever thing I’m working on.

Yeah, there’s definitely more to this than time management. It’s taking advantage of one of my personality traits and using it as an excuse to throw the rules out the window. I can go a little further and say that this is not the only tactic I have for getting myself out of the healthy eating box. Instead of growing in the area of my procrastination and developing better time management skills, I’m secretly refusing to work in those areas because I can eat a cheeseburger or pizza guilt free.

How messed up is that? Refusing to grow in an area I’m weak in so that I can cave and eat whatever I want. That’s not a sign of maturity.

Again, this whole journey makes you scuba dive down into your life, thoughts, and really figure out why you do the things you do. I’m kind of like my own therapist and this blog is my therapy session.

So now, I want to work on my time management and preparedness not because procrastinating is bad – I think procrastinating can be an art –, but because of the real reason behind why I procrastinate. I procrastinate so I can binge. I don’t want to do that any more. Let’s make progress in all areas – JJ

Leave a Reply

