Roasted Brussel Sprouts

brussel-sprouts

Brussel Sprouts might be one of my favorite vegetables. I starting eating brussel sprouts around March of this year. Man, have I been missing out! I was nervous to try brussel sprouts because I thought they were going to be stinky and yucky. In fact, I had a lot preconceived notions about the sprouts. Thankfully, I was big time wrong.

Now, that it’s officially fall, we are in peak brussel sprout season! Brussel sprout season, according to Cooking Light, is from Septemeber – February. We’ve got all winter long to enjoy these cute little mini cabbages. Brussel sprouts are full of Vitamin A and C, iron and fiber, so you should definitely try to add them into your weekly vegetable intake.

Roasting is my number one favorite way to prepare brussel sprouts. The outsides get brown and crispy. Roasting brings out such a unique and delicious flavor like no other technique can do. Most of the roasting recipes you find on Pinterest involve balsamic vinegar or parmesan. I’m sure they are delicious, but balsamic vinegar and parmesan aren’t Ideal Protein Protocol friendly.

Here’s how I do it!

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Supplies Needed:
1 Bag of Brussel Sprouts. I’ve only tried this with  fresh brussel sprouts. I’ve never tried this recipe with frozen brussel sprouts. If you try it, let me know how it goes!
Olive Oil
Salt + Pepper
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder

Instructions:
Pre-heat oven to 425
Peel outer layer of each brussel sprout. Get the dark green leaves off.
Wash sprouts in a colander
Cut the stems off each sprout and then cut each sprout in half.
Place sprouts in a large bowl and drizzle with olive oil. You want enough olive oil to coat each sprout.
Sprinkle seasonings to your taste.
Place sprouts on a foil lined baking sheet where they aren’t on top of each other.
Roast in the oven for 20 minutes or until sprouts are caramelized. Don’t be afraid to let the brussel sprouts get brown, that’s what makes them taste so good!

If you want to get crazy, you can add some bacon bits or chopped up bacon / turkey bacon to your brussel sprouts. That’ll take it to the next level.

Currently, I’m working on a sautéed brussel recipe. I’ll be sure to share it with you as soon as I get it the way I like it. Hope you enjoy this recipe! – JJ

photo attribution: wellnesswithrishka

Leave a Reply

