Why I Weigh Myself Every Day

The scale. We have a love-hate relationship with the scale, right? Love it when the number is lower, hate it when the number is higher.

woman-bath-scale

I’m learning to love the scale. I’m not afraid of it anymore. I don’t dread it.

Some people think that weighing yourself every day is a terrible decision. Some people think using a scale at all is a terrible decision. You know what? That’s okay. We’ve got to find what works for us individually.

I conducted a little experiment. I was curious as to which method was going to really work for me. One week I weighed myself every morning. The next week I didn’t weigh myself until Weigh In Day. There was a distinct difference in my attitude the week I weighed myself daily vs the week I didn’t. Here’s why:

I’m an out of sight out of mind person. If I don’t see it or write it down, it’s hard for me to remember what I’m doing. When I weighed myself in the morning, I wasn’t fixated on my number all day, but more conscious of wanting to see change. The week where I didn’t weigh myself, I wasn’t as devoted / dedicated to the protocol. It wasn’t at the forefront of my mind. It was kind of an afterthought.

I’ve found what works for me. Hoping on the scale every morning signals to my brain that I either have to own up to what I did (if I slipped and cheated) or encourages me to continue making good decisions.

The real key to weighing yourself every day and being okay with it is understanding a few things:

  1. Weight Fluctuates. Time of day, water in take, whether or not you’ve gone to the bathroom, salt intake, literally everything can make your weight fluctuate. I fluctuate between 1 -2 pounds. I’ve learned my body over time.
  2. You have to be kind to yourself.  I think this is most important. You shouldn’t weigh yourself everyday if it’s going to spiral you into self hate and negative self talk. Like I mentioned earlier, I weigh myself every day so that my overall health is at the forefront of my mind. I don’t weigh myself for an excuse to live in negativity.

It’s also important to point out that we can’t control what number pops up on the scale. However, we can control what we do on a daily basis. Don’t be defined by your number, but let it be a reminder to take care of yourself.

Just because this works for me, doesn’t mean it’s necessarily going to work for you. There are so many ways to notice progress and keep health and good decisions at the forefront of your mind:

  • the way your clothes fit
  • energy levels
  • your skin (my cheeks get really flushed and I get small bumps on my arms when I eat carbs. I think that might mean I’m gluten intolerant…)
  • getting better rest

I’m sure there’s even more! Find what works for you. Don’t let the number define who you are. Control what you do on a daily basis.

I’d love to know what helps you stay focused! Feel free to share the knowledge! – JJ

Leave a Reply

