My 14th Week: A Roll Call of Cheats

If you couldn’t tell from yesterday’s post, I’m having trouble keeping up with my week to week progress. Honestly, I’ve let the strictness slip and that results in me not taking this whole process seriously.

So starting this week I’m going to start posting my Weekly Weigh Ins on weight in days instead of a few days later. Let’s re-cap this week. Heads up: it wasn’t pretty.

This past week was a holiday week (Labor Day) so I should’ve approached it with my shields up and defenses ready. It was actually the opposite. I went in weak and knowing I would call in the “it’s a holiday” and “I don’t eat like this all the time” excuse. Anyone been there?

I kind of went off the deep end when it came to what I ate. I’d start every day saying, “I can pick it up strict tomorrow.” or “I’ll be able to bounce back from this.” Unfortunately, that was not the case. I started snowballing Thursday after my weigh in.

You may not be interested in the play by play of the things that I ate, but its healthy for me to confess where I messed up and more importantly why I ate the way I did.

Here are my cheats in no particular order: 
Panda Express – sweet fire chicken + honey sesame chicken (twice, once at Panda, leftovers the next day)
Fried Chicken Biscuit with pepper jelly
Fried potatoes
Ritz Crackers + Cheese (a few times)
Hershey Chocolate Nuggets Almonds + Toffee
Party Food at a family party on Sunday night. Can’t even remember what all I ate!
Mashed Potatoes
Homemade Chicken Nuggets
Cheeseball + Crackers
Party Punch, lemonade, sweet tea, ginger ale
Cereal
Hazelnut Butter
Tomato Basil Soup from Newks with croutons

I’m calling myself out with this roll call of cheats because I have to. Seeing it listed out and knowing that it’s going to be read by someone else is a powerful motivator to regroup and do better. The list may not seem that long, but a lot of them are repeat offenders, as in I didn’t eat it just once.

I almost broke down in tears when meeting with Brittany today at my weigh in. What is the disconnect between my meetings / weigh ins with her and the weekend? The real question is “why”. Why did I eat the way I did? Why did I not stick to the program? What is driving me to food and eating in secret? I think the best answer is not prioritizing my relationship with God.

Life got busy. Life got stressful. Things happened that weren’t in my control. Sleeping in seemed better. These food cheats were little releases. I took my stress to food instead of to God and it resulted in this.

But, where’s the joy?
If you’ve been reading along with me for a while now you know that I believe that there is joy in everything and that our circumstances don’t define us. The joy is that I’ve once again realized that pursuing Jesus (spending time in the word, having an inner monologue of prayer, talking about what I’m learning, depending on Jesus to get me through temptations) keeps me healthy.

The joy is knowing that I’m not alone. The joy is knowing that I don’t need to eat to celebrate. The joy is knowing that God wants what’s best for me. I’m the best version of myself when I look to God before I look to food.

IMG_7257

FullSizeRender

Week 14 | STATS
+2lbs
-36lbs total

Leave a Reply

