Self Care

11975575_10205116974065822_2120672961_o

Here’s something that I’ve been thinking about lately. The idea of total Self Care. Self Care manifests itself is so many different ways like getting enough rest; consuming healthy food, drinking  water, etc, but those are just the tip of the ice berg. There’s so much more!

  • Washing / moisturizing your face
  • Using lotion on dry skin (Confession, I have really dry skin especially my heels!)
  • Waking up on time
  • Conflict resolution
  • Spending time with fun people
  • Having a creative outlet
  • Spending time reading the Bible / journaling (if you have to write to process things like I do)
  • Keeping things somewhat organized / tidy (definitely working on this one. I have major cluttering tendencies)
  • Volunteering / Being involved with something that you’re passionate about
  • Showering Regularly
  • Primping (Hair + Makeup — of course you don’t need make-up and hair products to be beautiful, but for me, when I put even just a little bit of effort into my look, I feel like I’m taking myself a little more seriously. Putting on make-up and fixing your hair can be fun! If it’s not fun for you and you don’t enjoy it, by all means don’t feel you have to. Again, this is a part of self care for me. One more time, you don’t need make-up and hairspray to be beautiful. The beauty comes from within.)
  • Listening to encouraging voices (podcasts, books, music, people, etc)

Self Care is taking yourself seriously; knowing that you’re worth being taken care of. When all of these elements come together in a regular routine, it’s easier to make the harder, healthy choices. When I don’t clean up my area (I’m a crocheter, so there’s yarn literally everywhere) and decide to be lazy it really does play mind games with me.

There are distinct differences in my attitude on the days when I make up the bed and hang my clothes up vs the days I don’t. It continues to blow my mind how everything is so connected. This is a holistic approach to self care.

Good decisions, no matter how large or small, really do add up to major differences.

What are some other examples of self care? What things / activities, no matter how big or small result in healthy self care for you? I’d love to know!

Let’s continue taking care of our selves! – JJ

Leave a Reply

