Cauliflower “Fried Rice”

You guys. I’ve found the recipe. Definitely my most favorite healthy recipe I’ve made so far and I’m sharing it with you today!

One of my favorite meals in the whole world is Fried Rice. I love going to hibachi restaurants. Ask my husband, it’s my favorite kind of food.

My Fitness Pal told me that 1 cup of hibachi chicken, rice, and vegetables was over 500 calories. Who only eats one cup of this goodness? Certainly not me. Because I could eat hibachi rice, vegetables, and chicken any / all of the time, I knew that I needed a substitute.

Hello Cauliflower “Fried Rice”!

I looked at a few different recipes before I really found what I wanted. I don’t have them linked, but search for it on Pinterest and click the first few recipes that pop up.

Here’s what you need: 
1 Head of Cauliflower
Chicken Breast (I had 2 large chicken breasts)
Lite Soy Sauce
Olive Oil
Sesame Oil
2 Eggs
Minced Garlic
Salt + Pepper
Zucchini + Mushrooms (or broccoli, or any combination of vegetables

Here’s what you do:
Rice cauliflower in food processor. Set aside. If you don’t have a food processor you can grate it on a cheese grater or chop it up really fine. Either way works.
Chop vegetables, set aside
Beat 2 eggs, set aside.
Cut Chicken into 1 inch pieces, set aside
Heat a drizzle of olive oil + 1/2 tsp sesame oil in a nonstick pan or wok on medium high heat
Season chicken with salt + pepper.
Cook the chicken in the oil until it’s cooked through.
Remove the chicken and set aside.
Add a drizzle of olive oil back into the pan and throw in vegetables.
Stir Fry vegetables until they are warm, but still firm.
Add in 2 Tbsp soy sauce, or how much you need to taste it.
Remove vegetables from pan and set aside.
Add in a drizzle of olive oil + 1.5 tsp of sesame oil
Throw in the riced cauliflower.
Stir Fry the cauli until it’s tender. This is where your experience of going to hibachi restaurants will kick in. I had a wooden spoon in each hand! This took me probably 10 minutes.
Once the cauliflower is tender, push the cauliflower to the sides of the pan clearing a space in the middle.
Scramble the eggs in the middle of the pan, then incorporate into the cauliflower.
Stir Fry the eggs and cauliflower until they are well mixed, then add in 5 Tbsp of soy sauce, or how much you need to taste it.
Throw the chicken back into the mix.
ENJOY!

IMG_7014

It seems like a lot of work, but it’s totally worth it! In all, this probably took me 30 minutes to make. I will definitely be making it again. Probably once a week. That’s how much I loved it! This recipe made enough for dinner one night and left overs the next night.

I wish I had photos along the way as I was preparing this dish. I’m working on my food photography!

Let me know if you try it! – JJ

*you could probably do this without the sesame oil if you want to. I don’t think sesame oil is completely Ideal Protein friendly. Because it’s such a small amount, I thought it was okay. It just gives it that extra little something that I need in my hibachi. 

Leave a Reply

