IP in Real Life: When You’ve Hit a Mental Plateau

Guys, I’ve been struggling.

The best way I can describe how I’ve been doing is a see-saw. Like on a playground. On one day I’d be doing great, the motivation was strong, I wouldn’t cheat, and just having a great time. The next day all I could think about was cheeseburgers, make little cheats here and there, and end the day begging Luke to take me to Wendys, or Chick-fil-a, or Dairy Queen, or anywhere really.

I’d wake up not knowing which side the day would lean towards. Ideally, they’d all lean in the positive, let’s strictly stick to the protocol direction and I’d never even think about cheating. Unfortunately, it’s been the opposite.

So I’m coming to you today not as someone who has all the answers, but as a fellow traveler who is barely hanging onto the edge. Slowly I’m coming back into a strong mental place where I can look past temptations and make the best / healthy decisions. Here’s how I’m doing it:

  1. Talk to people about how you’re struggling.

Sometimes we, especially women, feel like people don’t want to take the time to listen to our problems, or hear about what we’re struggling with. We don’t want to burden anyone with our issues. Let me honestly tell you that thoughts like that are poison and hinder more than help.

I can confidently tell you that those thoughts are poison because I’ve had them. It’s tempting for me to think that people only want to hear happy things and not the real life, nitty gritty, struggles. When I’ve actually engaged in conversation, been vulnerable and honest about what I’ve done and how I’m feeling, it’s liberating and helpful. I made it a point to engage with people that I trust and tell them that I’m struggling. Once the secret is out, I can regroup, refocus, and move forward.

2. Remember why you started.

The reason why you choose to be better, be healthier, make changes doesn’t change. It’s still there. It’s still waiting for you at the finish line. It’s been good for me to really pause and think about all the original reasons why I started this journey.

You can write them down in a notebook or post it note and leave them beside your bed. Read them before you go to sleep and as soon as you wake up in the morning.

Don’t let your reasons for starting make you feel guilty. Let them push you back into a good mental place.

3. Go back to the basics.

This has been really helpful. Being on the protocol for 11 weeks now, I’ve got a routine down pat, I’ve looked at every Pinterest recipe for Ideal Protein multiple times, and I don’t have to think about it as much anymore. For me, not thinking about it as much is actually what’s causing me trouble. I need that laser focus like I had in the beginning.

Go back to the basics. Re-read the original material. Remind yourself of how the program works and how everything works together.

4. Write about it.

Processing these changes through writing has been monumental in my journey. Maybe blogging isn’t for you, but you could write in a journal or notebook. I have a friend who started a Facebook group and it’s a safe place for her to share how she’s doing and what she’s learning. I’m so thankful I decided to consistently write about everything I’ve done so I can go back and read it when I’m un-motivated or discouraged.

5. Hold yourself to higher standards

I let myself get away with little cheats unscathed. It’s like I don’t expect myself to follow through or something. I want to rise to the challenge even if the challenge is with myself. You are valuable. You are worth good decisions. Expect change from yourself. You are worth it. You can get through the day without cheating. Hold yourself up to a higher standard. (If you couldn’t tell, I was writing this to myself)

Don’t be disappointed in yourself. Disappointment leads to not taking each day seriously. Not taking each day seriously leads to giving up. Giving up leads to not believing that you’re worth it.

I don’t want that for you and I definitely don’t want that for me! Let’s rise to the challenge and be as excited and confident as we were the day we started! I want to be that girl who cried tears of pure joy when she lost her first 8 pounds.

It’s time to get over this mental plateau! We. CAN. Do. IT. Do you have any advice on getting re-motivated? Do you have a story you’d be willing to share about getting past a mental plateau? I’d love to hear about! – JJ

3 thoughts on “IP in Real Life: When You’ve Hit a Mental Plateau

  1. Susan says:

    JJ you are an amazingly strong, intelligent woman who I happen to admire. You can and will by the strength of God make it through this tempting time of your journey. As a 64 year old woman who needs to lose at least 60 lbs. I admire your tenacity and faith in your journey. Every diet I start off great. Then at amid point I cave in to mind desires such as burgers,fries, ice cream and such. Any diet we start has to be a life long process to build a better temple for God. Praying for you my sweet friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

