Setting Goals

When I waltzed into my initial appointment a few weeks ago I expected the dietician to tell me how much weight I needed to lose and what my healthy weight should be. To my surprise it didn’t really go down like that.

Instead of getting a number or goal weight assigned to me based on height, we discussed how people are different and comfortable at different weights. Then, you have to take muscle into consideration. So, I left the appointment with the task of setting my first goal weight. My first number to work toward.

It took me a little while to really understand what I wanted and then if I was capable of getting there. You see, I don’t have a “I want to get back down to that size” history. I don’t have a dream pair of jeans from skinny days that I’m dying to fit back into. I’ve always been overweight. I don’t know what a healthy weight is for me. The first pair of pants I remember picking out without my mom’s help were a size 14. I was in the 6th grade. They were pleated khakis if you were wondering. I was a very stylish 6th grader…. not.

So I was drawing a blank in the goal department.

After scrolling through the IP community on Instagram (I check #ippals multiple times a day and I love it!) I noticed on a few people’s profiles that it said things like ” SW (starting weight) GW (goal weight) and GW#2 (additional goal weight).” It hadn’t occurred to me that I could have multiple goals! Instead of having one overwhelming number hanging over my head, I could break it up into sections. And that’s what I did.

tr50x392_3

My first goal is 50lbs. I want to be one of those people who can say, “Yeah, I’ve lost 50lbs and I’m never looking back!” 50lbs is a lot of weight! Not to mention a lot of work! I’ve been saying I want to lose 50lbs for about 3 years now. The difference now, is that I actually believe that I’m capable of doing it.

I’ve got little 50s on post its in a variety of places, my vanity mirror, the fridge, my car, my laptop, the places I frequent the most to always be aware. I don’t see the number 50 as my enemy silently judging me like I used to. It’s now my friend and encourages me not to cheat when no one is looking. Anything that works right?

That’s my first goal! If you’re trying to set your own weight goals, maybe breaking it up into smaller pieces instead of one big amount will help you like it helps me! Good luck today! I’m rooting for you! – JJ

Leave a Reply

