Ideal Protein in Real Life: The Beach Trip Edition

As most Southern girls do, I love going to the beach. There’s something magical about leaving your phone in the room and getting lost in a good book while baking in the sun. I even like the smell of sunscreen.

IMG_0842

A major lesson that I’ve had to teach myself is how to stay on track while on vacation. I’ve done it before (twice!) and I can do it again. In the past two months I’ve lost weight during a beach trip and a road trip to Dallas.

Typically our beach trips consist of breakfast in the room, hang out at the pool / beach until lunch, come up to the room for a sandwich, go back outside, come back inside to get ready for dinner, go out for a fabulous meal, go get dessert, snack until bed time. Unfortunately, that is not the best way to stay on track.

IMG_0843

In preparation for my upcoming beach trip, I thought I’d share some tips on how to stay on track while at the beach!

1. Get Mentally Prepared

This is KEY to getting through the trip on plan. For me, I know that I’m going to be tempted by fried shrimp and snacks in the condo. I’m already coaching myself on saying no to old temptations. It may sound silly, but visualize yourself in situations and coach yourself through saying NO.

2. Bring your own food

The best way for me to stay on plan is by bringing my own food for breakfast, lunch, and snack. I’m not just talking about Ideal Protein products. The day before you leave cook up a bunch of vegetables and pack them in an insulated lunch box or bag. That way you aren’t stranded only sipping on a protein shake while everyone else is piling up their sandwiches. You’ll be living large with your vegetables!

3. Stick to Grilled Food when Eating Out

The first thing I want to eat when I’m at the beach is fried shrimp. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Shrimp is Phase 1 approved, but not fried shrimp. Most seafood restaurants offer broccoli or asparagus as a side. Order grilled shrimp or fish with a side of broccoli and skip the french fries, bread, and corn.

4. Focus on Yourself

The most challenging part of vacations is eating with other people who probably aren’t on your diet. When you’re the only one who isn’t eating french fries, burgers, or shrimp po-boys, it really does a number on your mind. There’s a little voice inside your head that says things like, “everyone else is doing it. one little bite won’t hurt. you’re on vacation! don’t be so strict.” That voice can be really convincing.

Focus on yourself. Focus on the food that is on your plate. Eat slow. Take small bites. Drink a lot of water. Eyes on the Prize.

I want to pause for a minute and talk about treating yourself on vacation. It’s totally fine to treat yourself on vacation! It’s just not fine for me to do that right now. I need / want to be committed to my program for the whole year. That includes vacations. I need to prove to myself that I am strong enough to make good choices while I’m on vacation.

5. Travel for Experiences not just for the Food

Vacationing is not just eating in new places. It’s all about experiences! Focus on enjoying the feeling of your feet in the sand instead of the burger you want in your hands.

Like I mentioned above, I want to stay on plan during my beach trip because I need to prove it to myself that I can do it. Am I going to deprive myself forever? No. Once I’ve lost the weight and in the maintenance phase (Phase 4), I’ll be able to splurge on vacations because I’ll be eating well during normal life. You better believe I’ll be eating a  Fried Shrimp Po-Boy when the time comes!

Do you have any other tips for staying on track during a trip to the beach? – JJ

Bonus — this is one of my favorite pictures from a beach trip last year!

IMG_0916

Leave a Reply

