Fourth of July Festivities

Last weekend we celebrated 4th of July with a mini family vacation to Dallas and fireworks at a staff get together in the country.

IMG_6179

I was nervous going into the road trip for two reasons:

  1. What do you do in the car during a 6 hour drive? SNACK. And nap if you’re me.
  2. What do you do in a city that’s full to the brim of delicious Tex-Mex and a mega list of restaurants you don’t have in your city? EAT OUT as often as you can.

I packed my bag full of IP snacks, food, and supplements and mentally prepared myself for the challenges of the next few days. I’m happy to report that I survived the holiday weekend cheat free! In the past Road Trips meant that it was a no holds barred free-for-all for any food that I wanted. Not to mention a Holiday weekend on top of that.

I ordered salads with lettuce only, (and got crazy looks from the cashiers!) didn’t touch a plate of Tex-Mex, and passed up the desserts.

IMG_6235_2

I had a breakthrough moment when having breakfast with Amy, Becca, and Luke. We set out early Friday morning for a photoshoot for our blog, The Perch. After pictures, we went to a little breakfast place to discuss Perch Blog dreams. I had a Peach and Mango protein shake waiting for me back at the house, so I ordered a coffee and a glass of water. Luke, Becca, and Amy ordered lovely looking breakfast plates.

The breakthrough here was that I sat through a meal time watching other people eat and I was totally fine. I wasn’t having the panicked thoughts of “Eat something. Eat something. Eat something! Take a bite. Take a bite! Just one bite!” I WAS FINE! I don’t think I’ve ever sat through a meal without eating something.

IMG_1898 IMG_1906 IMG_1914

We had a family grill out at my cousin Matt and his wife Courtney’s house. I roasted up some favorite vegetables, ate hamburgers without the buns, and skipped the pie.

FullSizeRender-2

Seriously, major breakthroughs happened this past weekend. Road trips without fast food and a different city without eating out. I think this is the very first time I’ve done that.

After rolling back into town we went to another grill out with the Vertical staff.

I have a pro tip for you. When you are asked to bring a dessert to a party, make something that you don’t like. Now, there’s not a lot of desserts that I don’t like, but there are a few combos that I’m just not crazy about: nuts, really rich super chocolately brownies, pudding, and coconut. After a little brainstorming, I decided to make an Oreo Trifle. I heard it was delicious, but I wasn’t the least bit interested.

IMG_5131

I’ve proved to myself that I can stay strong on road trip and holidays and lose weight!. BIG DEALS! – JJ

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July Festivities

Leave a Reply

