Removing the Barriers

This past Sunday at Vertical Church we talked about barriers in our lives that keep us from either having a relationship with God or having a deeper relationship with God. I want to encourage you to listen to this talk during your lunch break, when you get home from work, or when you have a spare 20ish minutes. Trust me. It’s worth it.

I really latched onto this talk and I know that God is using it to continue stirring up things deep within me. Through this whole process (it’s been over a month now which is C R A Z Y) I’ve taken the time to really dig into my past, look into my emotions, and examine my relationship with God and food.

Food was a barrier between me and God. It might sound crazy, but it’s true.

I trusted food to comfort me when I had a bad day instead of talking to God about it through prayer.

“Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

I looked to food to celebrate when things were going well instead of rejoicing with God.

“Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice” Philippians 4:4

I ate when I was bored. I ate when I was sleepy. I ate when I couldn’t sleep. I ate when I was feeling silly. I ate when I wasn’t even thinking about eating.

Food wasn’t fuel to live, but a way of life. I didn’t know that it was keeping me from a deeper relationship with God until I gave it up. I didn’t know that my spiritual life could be deeper. I didn’t know that God could satisfy me in all of those ways listed above until I asked Him to fill that space that food has always occupied.

This process is more than just cutting out carbs or sugar. It’s just as much spiritual as it is mental. I wanted to share all of this with you for a couple of reasons.

1. This blog is all about honesty. You can’t have a successful life change / weight loss journey without sharing the whole story.

2. I want to glorify God in everything that I do. I want to glorify God by not eating french fries at lunch. Eating healthy food is a way that we can give him glory! I’ve never understood that until now.

I hope that you’re encouraged in a different way than to just make better choices. I want to encourage you spiritually. Anything can be a barrier between us and God. Food just happens to be one of mine. I want to encourage you to figure out your barriers. Then, get them out! – JJ

One thought on “Removing the Barriers

Leave a Reply

