Overcoming Cheat Guilt

Cheat Guilt. It’s a thing. I’m currently feeling it.

I had a couple moments of weakness this past week:

Thursday – Blueberry Sour Cream Popsicle, then 3 cheese sticks
Friday – Half a bag of a small Movie Theater Popcorn and half of a small coke
Saturday – Ritz Crackers + Loaded Potato Dip, Snickerdoodle Brownies
Sunday – Snickerdoodle Brownies

I’m sharing this with you because this blog is all about honesty. I’m reporting my cheats because I don’t want to hide them. When I hide cheats I can I tell myself that they didn’t really happen. When I let my mind think that those cheats didn’t really happen or that “don’t count because no one knows” I’m more susceptible of becoming a repeat offender.

So now I have the option to have a downer week because I started it off with cheats (my IP weeks start on Thursday) or I can move on. How do I move on from feeling guilty? Obviously, continuing to feel guilty is not a good idea.

1. Admit the cheat. Check.

2. Forgive myself. Easier said than done. Luckily, Jesus showed us how to forgive. The same grace that we show other people when we forgive them, can also be used when dealing with yourself. In the past I had the tendency to throw in the towel, with anything not just food, if I messed up. To chock everything up to failure, throw good decisions out the window, and fall into a slump. I don’t want to be like that anymore. Also, our message this Sunday was all about forgiveness and it was so good to hear.

3. Remember the feelings. Those cheats didn’t make me feel good. The cheese sticks, delicious at the moment, sat like rocks in my stomach. Along with physical feelings, the cheats left me thinking, “I’m not sure that was worth it.”

Those cheats did something to me. They unlocked the revelation that I can be stronger than my temptations and that it’s ultimately not worth it. I don’t want to live for the cheats. I want to do without. I want my brain and my body to learn that I don’t need cheese sticks, popcorn, and popsicles to be happy. I need my brain to know that cheats only taste good for a moment. I need my brain to know that every cheat backs me up an inch or might even take away a precious pound that I’ve worked to lose. I also know that I’m not perfect.

So this just means that I take this one day at a time. Make one decision at a time. That’s what I’m choosing to do this week. One good decision at a time. Good decision after good decision leads to progress. – JJ

3 thoughts on “Overcoming Cheat Guilt

Leave a Reply

