Recipe Round-up: 8 Vegetables to Roast

I’ve never considered myself that good of a cook, but lately I’m starting to think that I’m not so bad. Maybe watching a lot of food network shows has piqued my interest in cooking. Maybe the fact that I don’t go out to eat as often, but still want a nice meal has something to do with it. Anyways, I’ve become more adventurous in my meals and am ready to try new dishes!

Thanks to Pinterest we have a million recipes for any kind of diet and lifestyle at our finger tips. The problem, for me, is that it’s overwhelming, sometimes not trustworthy, and I can’t find pins I’m quickly looking for — because I pin too much!

So, I’d like to share a Recipe Round Up post featuring all IP Phase 1 approved ways to prepare vegetables. These are recipes that I’ve either tried and approved or want to try.

Roasted Eggplant

Roasted-Eggplant-Cubes-Pic

I have very limited experience with eggplant. I’ve never cooked with it before and I’ve only eaten it just a handful of times. Tori Avey clearly explains the prep and the cooking process. IP Note – use Ideal Protein salt. In Phase 1 you can have eggplant once a week.

Roasted Cabbage

med105471_0410_cabbage_wedge_vert

I made Roasted Cabbage for the first time a few weeks ago and I LOVED it! I followed this recipe from Martha Stewart, but skipped the seasonings. I brushed on olive oil and sprinkled salt, pepper, and garlic powder. You could eat these every night! They’ve become a regular in the vegetable rotation.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

d8dd51aaca2b2c097e91b1afd39c14a1

I got on the Brussel Sprouts train a few months ago. Prior to then, I’d never eaten one before. I always thought they were un-appetizing because I’d only ever seen them boiled. I’m so glad that I tried them because they’ve become an instant favorite vegetable side! I always look forward to brussel sprout night. When they get the black color on them and get crispy…. yall I’can’t even deal. So YUM.

Most of the Brussel Sprout recipes you’ll see on Pinterest have Balsamic Vinegar and/or parmesan cheese, both of which are not approved for Phase 1 of Ideal Protein. You don’t need them! These little guys taste great with just a little bit of olive oil and salt and pepper. Brussel Sprouts alongside Eggplant are in the once a week category for Phase 1. I found this recipe on The Black Peppercorn. *You could use Walden Farms Balsamic Vinaigrette. I haven’t tried that yet, but I want to!

Roasted Green Beans

Garlic-Roasted-Green-Beans-with-Almonds-1b

Can a green bean get much better? YES. Add a little garlic and roast them up! Green Beans are in the limited, once a week category for phase 1. I left off the almond slivers. I found this recipe on Emily Bites. These are one of Luke’s favorite dishes.

Roasted Mushrooms

Roasted-Brussels-Sprouts

Mushrooms are a hit or miss for me. Sometimes Ill eat them, sometimes I’ll pick around them. Since they are on the “you can eat these every day” list, I want to include them in my vegetable rotation. I’ve never roasted a mushroom before, but I think I’ll get the hang of it quickly! I believe I’ll put them with my Brussel Sprouts (like pictured above) or with green beans or broccoli. This recipe is from Southern Bite

Roasted Broccoli 

Roasted-Broccoli-1

I think Broccoli is my favorite vegetable. We eat A LOT of broccoli at our house. Roasting the broccoli tossed with a little olive oil and garlic… gimme! A special note for the broccoli is to not crowd them on the baking sheet. Also, broccoli roasts faster than most vegetables! Recipe from Garnished with Lemon.

Roasted Peppers

med105604_0610_roasted_pepper_vert

Peppers are another stable in IP Phase 1. I’ve prepared peppers in various ways, but never like this! This will be a fun way to prepare them one night! Recipe from Martha Stewart.

Roasted Zucchini 

roasted-zucchini-with-garlic-horizontal

Zucchini is in the top 3 of my favorite vegetables. I’ve prepared zucchini in every possible way, sliced in multiple different ways. My go to method is sautéing, but I’m on the quest to find my favorite roasting method. Typically, I can’t get my zucchinis crispy enough, but I’m going to keep trying! Recipe from Simply Recipes.

A few recipes I’ve found suggest broiling the zucchinis. Maybe I’ll try that!

Hopefully this round-up will serve as a resource for you like it will for me! If you have any other favorite roasting techniques, I’d love to hear them! – JJ

*In Ideal Protein Phase 1, you can select two of the vegetables from the”occasional” list to consume once a week. I do not advise anyone to prepare more than two of the “occasional” vegetables in one week.

4 thoughts on “Recipe Round-up: 8 Vegetables to Roast

Leave a Reply

