My 2nd Week

Hello friends!! I really can’t believe it’s been 2 weeks since I’ve made these major changes. I wanted to take a minute and tell you how my second week went.

11422043_10204634631367556_790998991_oIMG_5972

My Weigh In days are Thursday mornings, so my week in IP terms starts on Thursdays. The weekend started with a trip to Orange Beach followed by a wedding in my hometown. Two places to easily be a cheaty cheater. 

In the past, I used beach trips like this as an excuse to lay around and endlessly snack on anything I could get my hands on. Not this time! I planned out my food and even brought vegetables to eat during lunch. That was a first for me!

Friday evening we went to one of my favorite restaurants on the beach, Fishers.  After browsing the menu, there wasn’t really anything that was totally IP friendly. So I adapted to my situation and made myself a hamburger salad (burger without bread, cheese, or ketchup and a side salad). Not the most glamorous meal I’d ever had, but it was filling and I stayed true to my plan.

That meal was one of the hardest challenges I’ve faced; however, it was also a major milestone. It took all the self control and will power within me not to snatch a fried shrimp po-boy out of my sister’s hand. I could’ve easily snuck a few french fries or shrimp, but I didn’t. That’s the major victory! This experience will serve as a reminder to me every time I’m in a tight food situation. I’ve already proven to myself that I CAN say no to foods that aren’t good for me and that I can do it again.

IMG_1610-3IMG_1608-3

We left the beach on Saturday and drove straight to the wedding. Alongside the old friends and family I would see, I would also see a different kind of old friend, reception food. I love reception food. Give me fruit dip, cheese cubes, and wedding cake all day long. I walked into the reception mentally prepared to not even go near the cake. I’m happy to report, that I wasn’t perfect at the reception, but I didn’t eat the cake. I repeat. I. DIDN’T. EAT. ANY. CAKE (round of applause). 

I rounded out the week back on my normal schedule, which always makes sticking to the program easier.

Before I stepped on the scale to finish off my second week, I was hoping to see a -5lb difference, but expecting to see like -3. I had another want-to-high-five-the-nurse moment! There was a -6lb difference! Yall. This is really happening. I’m more motivated than ever to keep going and not cheat!

IMG_1601IMG_1603

Let’s all make good choices this week! I plan on experimenting with mushrooms (never cooked them before) and trying a couple of new recipes. I’ll let you know how it goes! – JJ

STATS | week two
-6 lbs
-14 lbs total

6 thoughts on “My 2nd Week

Leave a Reply

