So Much More than Weight Loss

This new plan of action is more than just losing a few pounds to look better in selfies and group pictures standing next to friends. This is a total overhaul of evaluation in my spiritual life as well as my physical life.

As a Christ follower, I know that my spiritual health influences everything. If I’m not talking to God through prayer, listening, or reading the Bible, then it’s going to affect my daily life in a negative way. Galatians 5 walks us through the Fruit of the Spirit. You can use a fruit tree as an analogy to understand what the Fruit of the Spirit is. A tree that is rooted in good soil and receiving healthy nutrients like sunlight and rain will produce good fruit.

The same is true for us. If we are rooted in Christ and seeking him daily, then we’ll produce Christlike characteristics. The good news is that we’ve been given all the fruits (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control) in one big bundle. We just have to decide to use them. It’s our choice whether we try to react in those ways or not. And no. It’s not easy, but totally doable.

Out of all of those characteristics listed above, self control is the one that I battle with the most. I know that a lack of self control in my spiritual life directly correlates to a lack of self control in my physical life. The two need to be balanced.

This is more than just weight loss. This is me getting my whole house in order to be the woman that God created me to be. It would be easy for me to say that all of this is too much work, I should quit and just have fun doing what I want to do instead, only that doesn’t bring me happiness or joy like it once did.

Now, it’s just a matter of me choosing to use the self control that is readily available to me. That’s me at a fajita bar and skipping the rice, tortillas, and cheese.That’s me waking up on time instead of sleeping an extra 30 minutes so I’m not rushed in the morning making me susceptible to bad decisions. That’s me skipping the mashed potatoes at Sunday lunch.  That’s me choosing to spend time reading God’s word instead of watching Netflix. 

994105_10204539380746350_207760781356138721_n

Difficult? Yes. Impossible? No.

I can look ahead and confidently make new decisions. I don’t have to be shackled by my past or old habits. The weight I still carry is a visual reminder of those bad food choices, old habits, and lack of self control, but it doesn’t have power over me and hinder me from moving forward. I don’t have to look back. I can be new.

Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now, it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. Isaiah 43:18-19

This verse is stirring something up in me. I know that God is using this truth to empower and encourage me through this journey. He’s doing something new and I don’t have to dwell on the past. Hope this encourages you like it encourages me! – JJ 

*I’m currently going through the SheReadsTruth study Women in the Word. I highly recommend it if you’re looking for a devotional / scripture reading plan. 

One thought on “So Much More than Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

